We aren’t doing Santa Claus!

Standard

Alright I can hear some of you saying… “Well how are you going to do that?” or ” That’s going to be hard!”

I’ll tell you why. These are my reasons.

1. Christmas isn’t about Santa or getting presents because you’re good. There are TOO MANY kids these days in the mind set “I want this! I want that!” They forget what’s important. In addition the parents also get lost. I’m sorry, but for those who don’t believe in Jesus, He’s the reason we celebrate. Sorry to break it to you…. πŸ˜‰

2. I don’t want my kids to be so disappointed like I was when I found out Santa wasn’t real! I’m afraid that they will lose trust in me because I lied to them to get them to be good.

How are you going to go about those who do believe in Santa, you ask? I’ll tell you.

People believe in God, some don’t. People believe there are aliens. Like creepy looking ones. I believe there are aliens, but not that kind. That’s beside the point. People believe there are psychics. People have their own beliefs and people tell people they are wrong or they’re crazy. Well I’m not that kind of person (anymore). People are people, just like me.

So what I will tell my kids is that Santa is just a guy that people believe bring them presents over night in a sleigh with Reindeer, and have little elves that help make the presents at his workshop at the North Pole.

Now if they want to believe that after I tell them that Santa’s not real, then they have that choice. I can’t force them to do what I want them to do. I will teach them and tell them what I know and believe, then they have the choice to accept it or not.

The reason for CHRISTmas is just that…..Christ! I celebrate Christmas to remember his birth, his living on earth healing the sick, preaching the gospel, and being sacrificed on the cross for ALL of US!! Serving others is a big thing I want to teach my kids also. I would like for them to have the desire to serve and give more than receive. I’m not going to lie it does feel good to receive, but I think it feels even better to give. We receive more (blessings) when we give more. That’s what Jesus has show us. Giving and serving are more important than getting something that will only last for a short time.

If someone does want to give you something by all means tell them. But, in my opinion, don’t make them feel like they should get you something.

These thing are what I will do. You do what make you feel good inside.

I’m still working on the little details, but this is what I have now.

Thanks for reading. Until next time.

Momma Duggar

2 thoughts on “We aren’t doing Santa Claus!

  1. Great post! We are doing Santa Claus. I loved the magic of Santa as a kid. There are ways that we will keep Christ in Christmas with out taking the imagination and magic away from our kids. Brett’s cousin says “Santa only brings 3 presents because that’s how many gifts Jesus got”. I heard about that after we bought Chae’s presents, but we intend to do that next year. You can also teach them the power of giving with out taking Santa away. One year, my sisters and I got really greedy. My mom said “NO MORE” after that, she made it a point to teach us what Christmas is all about. She’d talk with us about choosing a charity. She’d take us out and let us pick stuff out for the people we were helping. We were actively involved EVERY step of the way! Those are the Christmases that I remember most. The problem with greedy kids is not Santa. It’s all about what parents do with the rest of the holiday season. If kids aren’t shown the magic and power of the REAL Christmas season, they will be greedy. Santa is just a reflection of the parents, it can be done right without taking the magic out of Christmas morning that Santa brings to your home. I’m excited to see what you guys come up with as your family grows. Different traditions are what make each family so special. πŸ™‚

  2. Reblogged this on Motivated Decor and commented:
    My friend posted this and I love it! It is a great post! However, I have different opinions. I commented the following on her post.

    “We are doing Santa Claus. I loved the magic of Santa as a kid. There are ways that we will keep Christ in Christmas with out taking the imagination and magic away from our kids. Brett’s cousin says “Santa only brings 3 presents because that’s how many gifts Jesus got”. I heard about that after we bought Chae’s presents, but we intend to do that next year. You can also teach them the power of giving with out taking Santa away. One year, my sisters and I got really greedy. My mom said “NO MORE” after that, she made it a point to teach us what Christmas is all about. She’d talk with us about choosing a charity. She’d take us out and let us pick stuff out for the people we were helping. We were actively involved EVERY step of the way! Those are the Christmases that I remember most. The problem with greedy kids is not Santa. It’s all about what parents do with the rest of the holiday season. If kids aren’t shown the magic and power of the REAL Christmas season, they will be greedy. Santa is just a reflection of the parents, it can be done right without taking the magic out of Christmas morning that Santa brings to your home. I’m excited to see what you guys come up with as your family grows. Different traditions are what make each family so special. :)”

    What is your view on Santa? Do you maybe go a little overboard? Could your Christmas be toned down a little next year? Curious to hear what others think. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for visiting.
    -Amanda

Leave a Reply

